Page 4 - Coffee County Strategic Plan FY19-FY23
P. 4

Our Community

        C     offee County was established on February 9,

              1854 and is named for General John E. Coffee,
              a state legislator and a U. S. representative.
        It is located in Southeast Georgia with the vast                                        Ambrose Broxton
        majority located on the Satilla River sub-basin of the
        St. Marys-Satilla River basin. It is fourteenth in size                                                   Nicholls
        geographically among the state’s 159 counties, and                                           Douglas
        comprises 575.10 square miles. Douglas is the          ATLANTA
        county seat. Ambrose, Broxton, and Nicholls are
        also located in the county along with several
        unincorporated communities.

        The county’s population in 2016 was 43,012 and
        is composed of 68.9% White, 28.2% Black, and
        11.6% Hispanic. The population includes 28.1%    COLUMBUS
        under 19 years old, 59.4% 20-64 years old, and
        12.1% 65 years or older. There are 51.1% males
        and 48.9% females.                                                                           SAVANNAH

        Coffee County is a very progressive community.
        For much of the county’s history, it was known
        for its agricultural products - tobacco, cotton, and
        peanuts.  Today, agriculture still plays a role but
        manufacturing, distribution, material moving,
        service occupations, education, healthcare, and
        social services are major components of the local
        economy and provide a majority of the
        employment opportunities.

        The mean household income is $34,536 compared to         Approximately 225 school-aged children are home schooled.
        $55,322 for the state of Georgia. The cost of living is   The county has two public post-secondary institutions,
        20% lower than the national average. The top 10 largest   South Georgia State College and Wiregrass Georgia
        employers include the Coffee County Board of Education,   Technical College.
        Walmart Distribution Center, Pilgrim’s Pride Corporation,
        Coffee Regional Medical Center, Inc., PCC Airfoils, LLC,   The property tax millage rate is not significantly different
        Diamond Cargo, LLC, Coffee Correctional Facility, Coffee   in any of the taxing jurisdictions in Coffee County. For the
        County Government, Elixir Extrusion, and Southwire.      calendar year 2017, the millage rate for Ambrose was 24.378
                                                                 mills, Broxton 31.744 mills, Douglas 32.826 mills, Nicholls
        Educational data for 2012-2016 indicates 78.7% of persons   31.227 mills and county unincorporated 24.378. The millage
        25 years old or older are high school graduates and 13.1%   rate established by the Coffee County Board of Education
        hold a bachelor’s degree or higher. Coffee County has    for FY 2017 was 16.108 which is included in the rates
        several licensed day care centers and two private schools.   enumerated above.

   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9